20th Century Boys

Welcome to Kuriousity

News, reviews and features with a focus on manga, self-published works and a Canadian perspective. Enjoy fulfilling your Kuriousity!

SITE RETIRED - Thank you for the years of support and readership!

News > Licensing > News

Seven Seas Deals Out More Wonderland Romance with Four New Alice in the Country of… Series

Seven Seas Deals Out More Wonderland Romance with Four New Alice Series

Alice’s adventures in Wonderland, and her heart’s desire while doing so, resume in English as Seven Seas‘ newest batch of licenses – which they announced via Twitter –  are more series set in the Alice in the Country of… franchise.

Alice in the Country of Clover: Knight’s Knowledge – QuinRose / Asai Sai
Alice in the Country of Clover: March’s Hare – QuinRose / Iwaki Soyogo
Alice in the Country of Clover: Nightmare – QuinRose / Job
Alice in the Country of Hearts: Love Labyrinth of Thorns – QuinRose / Kurihara Aoi

Every story is an alternate telling, or a continuation, of the same general story – Alice is a young girl spirited away to the world of Wonderland where she traverses its strange countries, meets an assortment of people, learns the weird ways of their culture, and inevitably falls in love with one of the many individuals already immediately in love with her. The different series or one-shots each tend to follow one of these individuals and focus on a budding romantic relationship between them and Alice.

I’m still a little Alice-shy after my most recent experience with Yen Press’s Alice in the Country of Hearts: My Fanatic Rabbit, and the last Seven Seas’ instalment I read – Alice in the Country of Clover: Cheshire Cat Waltz (Vol. 01) –  failed to move me. None the less, I’m still on a bit of a high from how much I enjoyed the original story arc.

March’s Hare is the one book in this new batch that I will actively make a point to avoid. Sorry Seven Seas, but after My Fanatic Rabbit, I’ll be leaving the March Hare character, Elliot, on the sidelines. This book is scheduled for March 2014.

I’m at least curious about In Knight’s Knowledge – due out in July 2014 – which follows another really scary split-personality character, Ace, who bounces between being either being hopelessly lost or viciously homicidal. He hasn’t yet given me a reason to cringe at the thought of being with Alice romantically, in the context of the story anyway (killing people is a debatable offence there. Sort of.). In Knight’s Knowledge is the only multi-volume series in today’s licenses.

Nightmare is the book I’m most curious about however. This book follows Alice’s relationship with the mysterious figure, Nightmare. In previous books, he’s only appeared briefly and is the only character who is fully aware of what’s going on in regards to Alice’s appearance in Wonderland and what it means. This book could finally explain some of the plot points we’ve been left pondering since the original story. Fingers crossed! This one shot is due out in April 2014.

And as for Love Labyrinth of Thorns, I’m looking forward to reading this one almost as much since it stars the clockmaker, who was my favourite character in previous books. This one is due out in May 2014. Seven Seas is releasing another book starring him and Alice this coming week with The Clockmaker’s Story, which I plan on checking out for the same reason.

About the Author:

Lissa Pattillo is the owner and editor of Kuriousity.ca. Residing in Halifax, Nova Scotia she takes great joy in collecting all manners of manga genres, regretting that there's never enough time in the day to review or share them all. Along with reviews, Lissa is responsible for all the news postings to the website and works full time as a web and graphic designer.

Kuriousity does not condone or support the illegal distribution of manga online.
See an ad here linking to a scanlation website? Please let us know!

One Response

  1. […] is the second series Seven Seas has licensed that’s dedicated to the character, Nightmare. The first was Alice in the Country of Joker: Nightmare, which will be released a few months prior in April. […]

Leave a Reply

Take me back to the top!